A Timeline of League of Ireland Soccer in Cork


The Mardyke ground as viewed from Shanakiel.
The Mardyke grounds as viewed from Shanakiel.
Image source: A Century of Cork Soccer Memories by Plunkett Carter

1923-24: Non League Fordsons beaten by Athlone in FAI Senior Cup final.

1924: Fordsons FC become the first club from Cork to play in League of Ireland.

1926: Fordsons win the FAI Cup.

1930: Fordsons change their name to Cork FC.

1932: Cork Bohemians enter the league.

1934: Cork FC win the FAI Cup. Cash strapped Cork Bohs resign from league.

1938: Cork FC go into voluntary liquidation and are replaced by Cork City FC.

1940: On 13 February, Cork City are dissolved and Cork United are immediately formed. United took on the playing record and fixtures of the defunct club.

1941: Cork United win League and FAI Cup double. They finished level with Waterford on points and the league decided, a play-off should be held, in Cork. Waterford refused to play. The league awarded the championship to Cork.

1942: Cork United win League for second season in a row.

1943: Cork United complete hat trick of League titles

1945: Cork United win their fourth League title.

1946: Cork United win 5th League title in six seasons.

1947: Cork United win FAI Cup.

Cork City V Galatasary 29-09-1993

1948: On October 10, United go into voluntary liquidation resigning from the league, after competing in the Dublin City Cup and some of the Shield. At the AGM United stated they had lost money every single season. Cork Athletic FC was immediately formed with the same personnel and took their place in the league.

1950: Cork Athletic win the League.

1951: Cork Athletic win the League and FAI Cup double. Evergreen United FC elected to the league.

1953: Cork Athletic win FAI Cup.

1957: Cork Athletic registration cancelled by league due to poor financial situation. Cork Hibernians elected to league.

1959: Evergreen United change their name to Cork Celtic.

1964: Cork Celtic qualify for Europe (Cup Winners Cup).

1970: Cork Hibs qualify for Europe (Fairs Cup).

1971: Cork Hibs win the League.

1972: Cork Hibs win FAI Cup. Miah Dennehy scores first ever hat trick in final.

1973: Cork Hibs win FAI Cup for second year in a row.

1974: Cork Celtic win League.

1976: Cork Hibs become insolvent and go out of football.

1976: Albert Rovers FC elected to league.

1977: Albert Rovers change their name to Cork Albert F.C and in October changed again, adding an 's' to become Cork Alberts F.C.

1979: Cork Celtic expelled from league. Cork Alberts change their name to Cork United.

1982: Cork United expelled from the league.

1983 and 1984: No League of Ireland team in Cork.

1984: Cork City FC formed and elected to the league.

1985: Cobh Ramblers enter the League. New 1st Div League formed.

1988: Flower Lodge Stadium sold to GAA.Cork City V Bayern Munich 18-09-1991

1992: Cork City unveil new Ground at Bishopstown

1993: Cork City win League title.

1996: Cork City (Decvale Ltd) liquidated.

1996: Cork City, under new management, return to Turner’s Cross.

1998: Cork City win FAI Cup.

2005: Cork City win League.

2007: Cork City win FAI Cup.

2008: Cork City enters examinership (10 point deduction).

2008: Cork City win Setanta Cup.

2009: High Court quashed decision to wind-up Cork City.

2009: Cobh Ramblers fail to obtain licence for Division 1 and relegated to A Championship.

2010: Cork City fail to obtain Premier League licence.

2011: Cork City win Div 1 and Promotion to Premier League.

Cork City FC V Manchester United FC 03-08-1990

Cork City Libraries, Grand Parade, Cork, Ireland.
Contact us: Tel. +353 21 4924900 | Fax. + 353 21 4275684 | Email: libraries@corkcity.ie